Dr. Sonia Regina Bordin-Aykroyd

Dr. Sonia Regina Bordin-Aykroyd


Dr. Sonia Bordin-Aykroyd is an internationally acclaimed expert in minimally invasive, facial, and dental esthetic procedures. She has three decades of international experience using laser biotechnology, in the UK, Brazil, and the USA.

She successfully runs 2 Training Academies from Dallas: The International Laser Academy and The American Academy of orofacial harmony.

She is actively involved in cranio-facial sleep medicine at her Visage Wellness Institute, Sao Paulo, Brazil. She also works in 2 Sleep medicine centers in Dallas, all with a holistic approach to oral-facial harmonization.

Front-runner on lasers and photobiomodulation in dentistry in the UK and Brazil, she has a master’s degree from the Eastman Dental institute, London, UK and continuously do research and publications in lasers, with the cooperation of 2 major international affiliated Universities: University of Sao Paulo, Brazil, and De Montfort University, UK, from which, she is currently working towards her PhD in lasers in biomedicine.

Dr Sonia is the current President- elect of the Pharmacology/Therapeutics/Toxicology group of the International Academy of Dental Research (IADR); Councilor of the AADOCR and is in both committees: the IADR Task force and the ADA committee working group for the development of ANSI/ADA standards for Dental Lasers.

She was granted the Top 100 world Doctors award in dentistry in 2020, has several publications and is on the editorial board of some major peer-reviewed dental journals.

She is Laser Board Certified by the Brazilian Federal Dental Council (CFO), holds several Laser License and Certifications in various esthetic procedures in Texas and is an ex-visiting laser researcher at University of Nevada, USA and University Camilo Castelo Branco, Brazil.

She is Fellow of the American Association of dento-facial esthetics and member of: American Society for Laser Medicine and Surgery (ASLMS) & Academy of Laser Dentistry (ALD); La Société Francaise d’Optique; and the European Optical Society (EOS).